Pittsburgh Underage DUI Lawyer
Arrested for Underage Drinking & Driving in Pittsburgh?
colleges in the Pittsburgh area, there are many opportunities for minors to find themselves in trouble
with the legal system. The most common offenses for college students and
individuals under the age of 21 are underage drinking, use of a fake ID,
and disorderly conduct. Most of these
summary offenses can be resolved with relatively little or no impact on the minor's
criminal record and no jail time. However, the most significant offense
for minors that has the potential for long term impact and jail time is
driving under the influence of alcohol as a minor, or underage DUI.
The penalties for underage DUI in Pennsylvania include:
- Up to 90 days in county jail
- Between $300 and $500 in fines
- Possible license suspension
If you or your child has been arrested for underage DUI in Pittsburgh,
contact an experienced DUI attorney at Frank Walker Law to schedule an
We’re available to take your call 24/7.
Legal Limit for Drivers Under the Age of 21
Although the legal age to consume alcohol in Pennsylvania is 21 years old,
many students find themselves succumbing to peer pressure at college and
parties by engaging in
underage drinking. Unfortunately, many of these minors compound the bad decision of underage
drinking by attempting to drive while intoxicated. It is important to
note that the BAC level to be considered impaired as an adult driver in
Pennsylvania is 0.08%, but the impairment level for minors is 0.02%. This
means that simply drinking one beer at a party could place you over the
legal limit to operate a vehicle.
Pennsylvania's Zero Tolerance Policy for Underage DUI
Section 3802(e) of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code states that a minor may
not drive, operate or be in actual physical control of the movement of
a vehicle after ingesting a sufficient amount of alcohol to render the
minor's BAC at a level of 0.02% or higher within two hours after driving.
Pennsylvania's "zero tolerance" policy means that any measureable
amount of alcohol in the minor's system can be grounds for an underage
DUI charge and possible conviction.
The rationale for the zero tolerance policy is that minors are within their
first few years of driving and just learning the rules of the road, as
well as the importance of defensive driving, obeying all warning signs,
and demonstrating sound judgment. Any substance that may impair the minor's
ability to exercise safe driving skills on Pennsylvania roadways may have
devastating consequences. In fact, underage drivers account for 12% of
DUI-related fatalities in the state.
Let Us Help You Fight Your Underage DUI Charge
Don't take the "it's just a DUI, it can't hurt me too
much" approach to a charge of underage DUI. A conviction for underage
DUI in Pennsylvania could mean the loss of your license, jail time, increased
insurance premiums, and a permanent mark on your criminal record. Furthermore,
a conviction could bring hefty fines, costs and mandatory safe driving
classes. Finally, a conviction could interfere with college plans, loan
applications, and eligibility for college financial aid.
Do not leave anything to chance. Fighting a charge of underage DUI is a
must. Contact a Pittsburgh DUI attorney at Frank Walker Law to
schedule a consultation and review of the underage DUI charge before it is too late.