Multiple DUI Offenses

Facing DUI charges can be a nerve-wracking experience, especially considering the fact that you face the possibility of paying fines, going to jail, enduring skyrocketing auto insurance premiums and most importantly, a permanent criminal record. Despite what you might have heard, just because you were arrested for DUI, doesn't mean that you can't fight your charges and even possibly win. Whenever someone is facing criminal charges in Pennsylvania, they have a right to challenge them and DUI charges are no different! If you've been arrested for DUI, this is good news for you because an arrest doesn't necessarily have to end up in a conviction.

It is unlawful for all drivers to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08% or higher. For commercial drivers that limit goes down to .04%, and for drivers under the age of 21, the threshold is set at just .02%. If you were arrested for DUI in Pennsylvania, your penalties will depend upon your criminal record (prior DUI convictions), and your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time of the arrest.

Pittsburgh Penalties for Drunk Driving

Penalties for a first DUI with a BAC between .08% and less than 0.10% include:

  • $300 fine;
  • No license suspension;
  • Mandatory six months probation;
  • Possible attendance at victim impact panel;
  • Mandatory attendance at alcohol highway safety school approved by the department; and
  • Pennsylvania SR22 insurance requirement.

Penalties for first DUI with BAC between 0.10% and less than 0.16% are as follows:
The penalties include a 12 month driver's license suspension, jail time not less than 48 hours, fines ranging between $500 and $5,000, alcohol abuse screening & treatment if required, and attend an alcohol highway safety school approved by the department.

Penalties for first DUI with BAC at 0.16% or above are as follows:
The penalties include no less than 72 hours in jail, fines ranging between $1,000 and $5,000, mandatory attendance of an alcohol highway safety school approved by the department, and mandatory compliance with any drug and alcohol treatment.

Penalties for a Second DUI Offense

Penalties for a second DUI with a BAC registering at .08% but less than 0.10% include:

  • Jail time for no less than 5 days;
  • 12 month driver's license suspension;
  • Fines ranging between $300 and $2,500;
  • Mandatory attendance at an alcohol highway safety school approved by the department; and
  • Mandatory compliance with all drug and alcohol treatments imposed.

Penalties for a second DUI offense with a BAC of 0.10% but less than 0.16% are as follows:
Jail for not less than 30 days, 12 months license suspension, fines ranging between $750 and $5,000, mandatory attendance at an alcohol highway safety school approved by the department, and the defendant must comply with all drug and alcohol treatment requirements.

Penalties for a second DUI offense with a BAC above 0.16% are as follows:
A minimum of 12 months incarceration, 18 months license suspension, a minimum fine of $2,500 and the person must comply with all drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed by the court.

Penalties for a Third or Subsequent DUI Offense

Penalties for a third or subsequent DUI with a BAC of .08% but less than 0.10% include:

  • A minimum of 10 days imprisonment;
  • 12 months license suspension;
  • Fines ranging between $500 and $5,000; and
  • Must comply with all drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed by the court.

Penalties for a third or subsequent DUI with a BAC of 0.10% but less than 0.16% include:
Not less than 90 days in jail, 18 months license suspension, fines ranging between $1,500 and $10,000, mandatory compliance with all drug and alcohol treatment requirements.

Penalties for a third or subsequent DUI with a BAC above 0.16% include:
A minimum of 12 months incarceration, 18 months license suspension, minimum $2,500 fine and must comply with all drug and alcohol treatment requirements as imposed by the court.

Additional Penalties for DUI Offenses

In addition to the above penalties, the sentencing judge may also impose up to 150 hours of community service and the judge may order the defendant to attend a victim impact panel program. If a person has been convicted of DUI within the previous 10 years and they wish to obtain a restricted driver's license, then the department will require that each motor vehicle owned by the person or registered is equipped with an ignition interlock device (IID) and it must remain installed for the duration of the restricted driving period. If you would like more information about DUI penalties, contact a Pittsburgh DUI attorney from Frank Walker Law to schedule a private consultation.

Contact Us Today

Request your free, confidential case analysis.

Send
My
Info